# **RULES AND PERMIT CONDITIONS**

Park rules are designed to help you and others have an enjoyable visit while protecting the cultural and natural resources. Always observe and adhere to posted signs in the parks. In addition, you can help us by observing the following rules.

#### PARK RULES:

• ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES: The use or possession of alcoholic beverages is prohibited.

• FIREWORKS AND FIREARMS: Use or possession of fireworks, firecrackers, explosives, firearms and other weapons is prohibited.

• FIRES: Fires are allowed only in the fireplaces and grills designated by State Parks. Portable stoves or warming devices may be used in designated camping and picnicking areas unless otherwise prohibited. Dump live coals only in designated ash pits or receptacles.

• GENERATORS: Operation or use of any portable electric generator is prohibited, except with a special use permit.

• PETS and other animals are prohibited in campgrounds and cabins.

• NUDITY is prohibited.

• VEHICLES: Drive and park motor vehicles only on designated roads and parking areas provided or posted for such usage.

• WASTE DISPOSAL: Place all waste in provided trash cans only and pack out all trash from wilderness parks.

• NOISE: Do not operate or use any audio device, television or musical instrument in such a manner and at such times so as to create excessive noise or nuisance.

• WILDLIFE:Leave the wildlife and their habitat undisturbed except where hunting and fishing is permitted subject to all applicable laws and regulations.

• PLANTS: Leave all plant life undisturbed. Do not cut trees for firewood. Where permitted, reasonable quantities of fruits and seeds may be gathered for personal use.

• NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES: Leave all geological, historical, and archaeological features undisturbed.

#### PLEASE BE AWARE:

• There are no lifeguards in most State Parks areas. Swimming, wading and other water activities shall be at your own risk.

• Do not leave valuables unattended. Lock your car. Do not leave valuables even in locked cars.

• Persons should use good judgment while using the parks and facilities. Security service is not provided.

# **PERMIT CONDITIONS:**

• Names of all persons 3 years & older must be listed on camping & lodging (cabin) permits. Permit shall be shown to any authorized personnel upon request at the park. All persons over 18 listed on the permit shall show valid identification to authorized personnel upon request.

• Permits may not be transferred.

• Permits shall be revoked for violation of park rules, permit conditions, or any applicable law.

• Permittee shall be responsible for clean-up of the area used.

- Permittee shall be liable for repair, replacement or payment for any damages.
- Campers or lodgers named on this permit may not use camping or lodging facilities at the same park within 30 days of the check-out date on this permit.

• The permittee waives any and all claims he may have against the State of Hawaii and its respective officers, agents and employees, and agrees to defend. hold harmless and indemnify the State of Hawaii and its respective officers, agents and employees, from any suits, actions and claims arising out of or in any way connected with the activities permitted under the permit.

• Permittee shall comply with other conditions that may be imposed by the Department.

• Where these provisions conflict with the Special Conditions of the permit, the Special Conditions shall prevail. See box on front of permit for special conditions.

• SUSPECTED VIOLATIONS: Report suspected law and park rule violations to enforcement officers. On all islands, call 643-DLNR (643-3567), no area code required.

• For emergencies, dial 911.

### **REFUND POLICY:**

Permit fees, less cancellation charges and processing fee, will be refunded or credited only if request is conducted online, in person at one of the District offices, or received by mail at permit issuing office. In all cases, requests must be received at least 15 days before the check-in date shown on permit.

There is a cancellation charge of \$5 per permit, regardless of length of stay.