RULES AND PERMIT CONDITIONS

Forest Reserve rules are designed to help you and others have an enjoyable visit while protecting Hawaii's cultural and natural resources. Always observe and adhere to posted signs in the forest reserves. In addition you can help us by observing the following rules.

FOREST RESERVE RULES:

- ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES: The use or possession of alcoholic beverages is prohibited.
- FIREWORKS: Use or possession of fireworks, firecrackers, and explosives is prohibited.
- FIREARMS: Firearms including air or gas operated, bow and arrow and other weapons are prohibited except as permitted by department hunting rules.
- FIRES: Fires are allowed only in designated fireplaces and grills, where available. No fires may be made directly on the ground. Portable stoves or other self contained units must be used unless otherwise prohibited. Do not dump live coals attend until they are no longer too hot to touch.
- PETS: Dogs, cats, and other animals must be crated, caged, or on a leash at all times except for hunting dogs when permitted by Chapters 122 and 123, Administrative rules. Pets are not allowed inside cabins.
- VEHICLES: Drive and park motor vehicles only on designated roads and parking areas provided or posted for such usage.
- WASTE DISPOSAL: Pack out all trash unless otherwise specified.
- NOISE: Do not operate or use any noise-producing device (e.g. radios, musical instruments, generators, motors) in such a manner and at such times so as to create excessive noise or nuisance.
- WILDLIFE: Leave the wildlife and their habitat undisturbed except where hunting and fishing is permitted subject to all applicable laws and regulations.
- PLANTS: Leave all plant life undisturbed. Do not cut trees for firewood. Where permitted, reasonable quantities of fruits and seeds may be gathered for personal use.
- NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES: Leave all geological, historical, and archaeological features undisturbed.

PLEASE BE AWARE:

- Streams in Hawaii are subject to flash flooding.
 Swimming, wading and other water activities shall be at your own risk.
- The forest roads may become extremely slippery and muddy during rain events and large mud puddles may form. These conditions may make the road impassable at times. Watch the weather before going and during your trip.
- Do not leave valuables unattended. Lock your car. Do not leave valuables even in locked cars.
- Persons should use good judgment while camping and hiking. Natural hazards exist and security service is not provided.

PERMIT CONDITIONS:

- Names of all persons 3 years & older must be listed on camping & lodging (cabin) permits. Permit shall be shown to any authorized personnel upon request at the park. All persons over 18 listed on the permit shall show valid identification to authorized personnel upon request.
- Permits may not be transferred.
- Permits shall be revoked for violation of park rules, permit conditions, or any applicable law.
- Permittee shall be responsible for clean-up of the area used.
- Permittee shall be liable for repair, replacement or payment for any damages.
- Campers or lodgers named on this permit may not use camping or lodging facilities at the same park within 30 days of the check-out date on this permit.
- The permittee waives any and all claims they may have against the State of Hawaii and its respective officers, agents and employees, and agrees to defend, hold harmless, and indemnify the State of Hawaii, and its respective officers, agents, and employees, from any suits, actions and claims arising out of or in any way connected with the activities permitted under the permit.
- Permittee shall comply with other conditions that may be imposed by the Department.
- Where these provisions conflict with the Special Conditions of the permit, the Special Conditions shall prevail. See box on front of permit for special conditions.
- SUSPECTED VIOLATIONS: Report suspected law and park rule violations to enforcement officers. On all islands, call 643-DLNR (643-3567), no area code required.
- For emergencies, dial 911.

REFUND POLICY:

Permit fees, less cancellation charges and processing fee, will be refunded or credited only if request is conducted online, in person at one of the District offices, or received by mail at permit issuing office. In all cases, requests must be received at least 15 days before the check-in date shown on permit.

There is a cancellation charge of \$5 per permit, regardless of length of stay.