DLNR Wiki Permits

Wailoa River State Recreation Area SPC 2



Description

IMPORTANT!  PLEASE READ BELOW BEFORE PROCEEDING TO PAVILION RESERVATIONS.

 

*** UPDATE:  NO PAVILION PERMITS are being issued for the Wailoa River State Recreation Area.   

 

CLOSURE TO THE PAVILIONS IS EXTENDED TO OCTOBER 31, 2020.  Due to anticipated improvement projects that may be scheduled to take place during that time.  Please check the State Parks website for availability information.

 

Pavilion 1 (P1) - 60 Person Capacity; $5/Hour User Fee + $50 Deposit + Non-refundable 10% Administrative Fee

 

Pavilion 2 (P2) - 500 Person Capacity; $125 User Fee + $150 Deposit + Non-refundable 10% Administrative Fee ($125+$150+$27.50=$302.50 per day)

 

Pavilion 3 (P3) - 60 Person Capacity; $5/Hour User Fee + $50 Deposit + Non-refundable 10% Administrative Fee

 

Cash collection/sales and commercial activity are prohibited.  Not be permitted to bring any pets or animals except service animals as defined by the Department of Justice under the Americans With Disabilities Act, providing their service duties in the Park or Wailoa Center.  Smoking and the use of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices is prohibited in state parks.

 

SPECIAL USE PERMITS (SUP) shall be required for all other activities not covered by this permit.  SUP include, but not limited to, such activities as bouncers, dry slides, train(s), climbing wall, weddings, shows, community events, etc.  WATER SLIDES DUNKING BOOTHS AND OTHER WATER RELATED ATTRACTIONS ARE PROHIBITED.  SUP requests shall be submitted in writing to the Hawaii District Superintendent at least 45 days in advance of the requested use date.  Land Board or Chairperson's approval and additional conditions such as insurance, additional fees, security, etc may be required.  Please contact the Hawaii District Office at (808) 961-9540 for more information.  The pavilion will be inspected after the end time shown on the pavilion permit.  Should the permit end time be after 4:00 p.m. the inspection will be done the next morning. Any deposit due will be refunded should the permittee comply with all the conditions of the permit. Cleaning charges will be computed as the product of the cleaning time multiplied by one and one-half times the current hourly wage of a Caretaker II.  Charges for trash disposal will be based on labor fee.  Damage assessment will be charged according to the cost of the materials and/or labor used.  The permittee will be responsible to pay for any excess charges exceeding the security deposit. 

 

CANCELLATION/REFUND POLICY:  All monies collected under the permit, less the 10% Administrative fee, will be refunded for non-use of the pavilion provided the permit is CANCELLED MORE THAN 60 CALENDAR DAYS prior to the reservation date. Walk-in counter requests to cancel shall be in writing and accompanied by the original permit.



Location

Wailoa River State Recreation Area located at 110 Park Road Parking at end of Pi'ilani Street in downtown Hilo.  

Pleasure walking, quiet relaxation, informal games and events, picnicking and boat fishing are provided in this landscaped park set around Wailoa River.  Boat ramp provided. Fishing restrictions.

 

Wailoa Center located on Pi’opi’o Street, access road off of Pauahi Street.  Available for informational services and cultural displays.

 

Statue of Kamehameha I faces Hilo Bay and is accessible from Kamehameha Avenue.

 

 



Special Conditions

For pavilion reservations that begin between the hours of 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., the Permittee, contact person or adult representative shall check-in at the pavilion with the park caretaker at the start time shown on the permit.  A review of the condition of the facilities will be conducted at this time.  Should the permittee, contact person or adult representative fail to show within 15 minutes of the start time, the caretaker shall indicate “no show” on their report and the Division of State Parks shall not be held responsible for the condition of the facilities after the caretaker leaves the area. 

SALE OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES PROHIBITED. NO COMMERCIAL ACTIVITIES AND/OR MONEY COLLECTION ALLOWED. Reservation includes setup/cleanup times. Drinking permitted only within pavilion. NOT BE PERMITTED TO BRING ANY PETS OR ANIMALS EXCEPT SERVICE ANIMALS AS DEFINED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE UNDER THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT, providing their service duties, into the Park or Wailoa Center. 

Smoking and the use of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices is prohibited in state parks. There are no emergency/rescue services at this park. Permittee must clean up area used (bring your own cleaning supplies, remove all decorations; remove, haul away and dispose of foliage/trash. DO NOT: 1) Drive vehicles into picnic areas; 2) hose down pavilion with water; 3) use nails, staples, tacks, thumbtacks; 4) remove tables from pavilion; 5) erect tents/additional structures to pavilion. Water related attractions are prohibited.

Special use permit requests must be submitted in writing at least 45 days before the requested date of use. Special use permits shall be required for certain other activities not covered by this permit (e.g. bouncing castle, climbing wall, wedding ceremonies, etc.).


AFTER 10:00 P.M. ANY DEVICES THAT MAY CREATE EXCESSIVELY LOUD NOISES SUCH AS, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, DRUMS, SOUND SYSTEMS/AMPLIFIERS, BOOM BOXES, IS PROHIBITED.

Permits are not transferable.

*** PRINTED PERMIT MUST BE SIGNED, TAKEN TO THE PARK AND PRESENTED TO ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS OR PARK OFFICIALS UPON REQUEST.

The deposit shall be forfeit should cancellation occur less than 60 calendar days prior to the reservation date. Monies collected for permits issued are not transferable.

I have read and agree to abide with the above special conditions and the Special Conditions/Rules and Permits Conditions listed on the additional second and third page pf this permit.

Hazards

No hazards.

Prohibited

No prohibited.

Activities

No activities.

Amenities

icons/amenities/icon-visitorcenter.gif Visitor center icons/amenities/icon-bathroom.gif Restrooms
icons/amenities/icon-picnic.gif Picnic tables icons/amenities/icon-trash.gif Trash cans
icons/amenities/icon-water.gif Drinking water icons/amenities/icon-pavilion.gif Pavilion

Facilities

No facilities.


No sites.



Refund Policy

Cancellations/Refunds - All monies collected under the permit, less the 10% Administrative fee, will be refunded for non-use of the pavilion provided the permit is CANCELLED MORE THAN 60 CALENDAR DAYS prior to the reservation date. Walk-in counter requests to cancel shall be in writing and accompanied by the original permit.

The deposit shall be forfeited should cancellation occur less than 60 calendar days prior to the reservation date.  The rental fee, less the 10% Administrative Fee, will be refunded for non-use provided the permit is cancelled before the reservation date.  Monies collected for permits issued are not transferable.

The REFUND check, if any, normally requires a period of 6 - 8 weeks. The refund check will be made payable to the permittee. The permittee is responsible for notifying the Hawaii District Office of any address/contact number changes in writing prior to the event date.



Reservation

* *
Number of Nights: 0 Number of Days: 0
Planned Activities:
















* (Ages 0 & older)
Total Number of Guests: 0

No sites.